Skip to content
Havering Counts — Havering, in numbers.Local help →

Havering, in numbers

People and living standards

Havering council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Havering council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 230,923 in 1991 to 280,787 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Havering council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 227,115 people in 1996; 280,787 people in 2025. 23.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991230,923
1992229,111
1993229,385
1994228,696
1995227,567
1996227,115
1997226,039
1998223,641
1999225,712
2000225,141
2001224,717
2002225,054
2003225,248
2004225,769
2005226,990
2006228,198
2007229,789
2008231,793
2009234,127
2010236,234
2011237,927
2012239,946
2013242,550
2014246,771
2015250,449
2016254,487
2017257,429
2018259,229
2019261,296
2020261,906
2021262,086
2022265,111
2023270,756
2024277,042
2025280,787
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Havering council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,971 people in 1996; 57,059 people in 2025. 26.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,725
199245,414
199345,531
199445,581
199545,331
199644,971
199744,603
199843,995
199944,930
200044,813
200144,455
200244,391
200344,444
200444,234
200544,244
200643,991
200743,979
200844,116
200944,443
201044,587
201144,531
201245,034
201345,882
201447,257
201548,204
201649,582
201750,503
201851,222
201951,985
202052,306
202152,320
202253,580
202354,874
202456,346
202557,059
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Havering council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 143,758 people in 1996; 175,232 people in 2025. 21.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991149,178
1992147,166
1993146,663
1994145,539
1995144,246
1996143,758
1997142,822
1998140,882
1999141,529
2000140,919
2001140,536
2002140,720
2003140,818
2004141,520
2005142,623
2006144,156
2007145,610
2008147,035
2009148,498
2010149,852
2011150,839
2012151,005
2013151,930
2014154,026
2015156,522
2016158,805
2017160,719
2018161,727
2019162,709
2020163,111
2021163,571
2022165,056
2023168,729
2024172,769
2025175,232
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Havering council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 38,386 people in 1996; 48,496 people in 2025. 26.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199136,020
199236,531
199337,191
199437,576
199537,990
199638,386
199738,614
199838,764
199939,253
200039,409
200139,726
200239,943
200339,986
200440,015
200540,123
200640,051
200740,200
200840,642
200941,186
201041,795
201142,557
201243,907
201344,738
201445,488
201545,723
201646,100
201746,207
201846,280
201946,602
202046,489
202146,195
202246,475
202347,153
202447,927
202548,496
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 262,052 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havering · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh28,15010.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African21,5678.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9,7473.7%
White197,31475.3%
Other ethnic group5,2742%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 237,232 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havering · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White207,94987.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,9332.1%
Asian/Asian British11,5454.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British11,4814.8%
Other ethnic group1,3240.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 224,248 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havering · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White213,42195.2%
Mixed2,2981%
Asian/Asian British4,0881.8%
Black/Black British3,1391.4%
Chinese/Other1,3020.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Havering council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,872 per person in 1997; £27,374 per person in 2024. 151.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,872
199811,292
199911,722
200012,563
200113,392
200213,613
200314,216
200414,684
200515,117
200615,500
200716,622
200817,118
200917,037
201017,422
201117,558
201218,476
201319,104
201419,410
201520,671
201621,206
201721,578
201822,572
201922,811
202022,733
202123,396
202224,773
202325,927
202427,374
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Havering council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2.5% in 1997; 5.4% in 2024. 2.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Havering council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972.5
19984.3
19993.6
20005.5
20018.3
20027.6
20039.1
20048.2
20057.5
20065.8
20078.3
20088.7
20096.4
20107.9
20117.8
20129.4
20139.1
20147.3
20158.7
201610.1
20179.5
201810.6
20198.3
20208.3
20217.1
20227.9
20236
20245.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.5%

21 March 2021 · Havering council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Havering council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20%

21 March 2021 · Havering council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Havering council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£449,000

July 2026 · Havering council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,565

August 2026 · Havering council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.